The GIN Awards

The GIN Awards

Previous Award Winners

2020 – Dr Hector

A consultant at the WHO Regional Office for Europe and a Methods Editor for the Cochrane Common Mental Health Disorders group at the University of York. This was awarded for his contribution to the clinical guideline updating enterprise, specifically in the development of the UpPriority tool and the development of a search strategy for retrieving scientific literature on patients’ values and preferences.

2019 – David Phillippo

Research Associate in Evidence Synthesis in the NICE Technical Support Unit.

This was awarded for his innovate work around how we test confidence in recommendations based on network meta-analyses in a guideline development context, specifically the development of an algebraic approach to threshold analysis, which answers the question, “This evidence may be biased or of low quality, but how much would it have to change before the recommendation changes?”

2018 – Robin Vernooji

The 2018 award winner was Robin Vernooij, a guidelines consultant and information specialist at the Netherlands Comprehensive Cancer Organisation. This was awarded for his innovative work in the methodology of updating CPGs, including the development  of the UpCheck instrument. 

2017 – Linn Brandt

A Doctor in specialist training, at the Department of internal medicine, Diakonhjemmet hospital, and Project Leader on the research project Evicare, funded by the Norwegian Research Council. 

This was awarded in recognition of Linn’s work to create an international network of evidence synthesizers, guideline developers and decision support creators working together to fix a currently broken evidence ecosystem and her contribution to the creation of the MAGICapp.

2016 – Ilkka Kunnamo
and Richard Rosenfeld.

Ilkka Kunnamo was Editor-in-Chief, EBM Guidelines, Duodecim Medical Publications Ltd and EBMeDS, Finland. His award was in recognition of his work to establish both the Finnish electronic evidence based medicine database “Lääkärin Käsikirja”, which is used daily by almost all Finnish health care organisations and professionals, and the Evidence-Based Medicine Electronic Decision Support service (EBMeDS), that integrates electronic health record systems with the evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Richard Rosenfeld has been the innovator and driving force behind the guidelines programme at the America Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Foundation. His award was in recognition of his leadership of the GIN North American Community and his contributions to BRIDGE-Wiz (Building Recommendations In a Developer’s Guidelines Editor) to ensure CPG recommendations are clear, actionable and implementable and consumer involvement in the guideline development process.

2015 – Philip van der Wees

Senior Researcher at Radbound University Medical Centre and a member of the European Region of the World Confederation for Physical Therapy (ER-WCPT) Professional Issues Working Group since its inception.

This was awarded for his great success in developing evidence based practice and guidelines within the physical therapy profession

2014 – Jeremy Grimshaw

Senior Scientist at Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, a Full Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Ottawa and a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Health Knowledge Transfer and Uptake. This was awarded for innovation in the methodology, development and, particularly, in the implementation of clinical practice guidelines.

2013 – Marcia Kelson

The first Najoua Mlika-Cabanne innovation award was presented to Marcia Kelson of the National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) in the UK. Marcia was recognised for her ground-breaking work in patient involvement in clinical guidelines.